On life, and watching it happen…

Let me start by saying that at the age of 22, I have no desire to be responsible for someone else’s life for 18 years.  Should children ever become a big part of my life, they will probably be nieces and nephews.  Having said that, it’s time for a story…

Newton was born on Christmas Eve in a barn, someplace in Kentucky where that sort of thing is commonplace.  When I first met him he had been on this earth no longer than a month.  He could fit in the palm of my hand, along with his sister, and I fed him from a bottle.   He was at my parent’s house as part of a foster program they participate in – they have what we call the “puppy room” – and when it came time to adopt him out, I said “nope.”

He is now 14 months old and he weighs 112 pounds.  I now have to be mindful of what I leave out on the kitchen counter.  Lesson learned:  Be careful what you wish for.  He is a great dog though.  He’s absolutely beautiful and has more attitude than most of the queens I know.

"Girl, don't point that thing at me." - 14 weeks.

The first night I had him was his first night without his sister, who had been adopted that day by some family friends.  At bedtime I put him in his crate, and he did really well….for around 2.5 seconds.  After that, he wailed, cried, and barked.  I laid in bed and thought “Why, oh why, did I think this was a good idea?”  Of course, there was no way in hell I was going to get rid of him, and as time went on things got better.

At times he has tested my patience near to the breaking point.  When he was young he developed a habit of wandering out into the yard in the darkness of the early morning, realizing that it was dark and that he was alone, and begin barking incessantly.

He looks like he is wearing eyeliner. Need I say more? - 13 months

Tomorrow I have the day off from work (my weekend starts on Monday), and there are lots of errands to run.  I am sure he will be accompanying me to most of them.  He loves riding in the car, now that we’ve got the kinks worked out.  As he outgrew the front seat, he would slip on the leather knock the car into neutral, and once into reverse (“Look out!”).  I drive a car with only two doors, and it’s rather small, so fitting him into it was becoming a problem.  I then discovered that if I moved the passenger’s seat all the way forward he could sit in the back seat, four paws on the floor, and stick his head out of the passenger’s window.

He’s since graduated from sleeping in the crate and outgrown his tendency to scare himself in the dark.  In fact, he is at the foot of my bed now, sleeping.  Watching him grow has been interesting, to say the least.  I have learned to avoid thinking that “He can not possibly get any bigger.”

Now, I just need to work on that snoring thing…. Do they make Breathe Right for dogs?

2 thoughts on “On life, and watching it happen…

  1. I really liked that post. It reminds me of the time we had Jessie – a golden cocker spaniel pup. When we had her that first night. I suddenly recall those deep stored memories of her moaning and crying in the dark downstairs that very first night we had her. And how I’d gone down to talk to her and keep her company. Ah, I really miss her now. She was a magnificent dog. None too clever, but still a wonderful person. Long time ago now.

    Its funny how such memories can never be forgotten, only buried deep within the subconscious.

    • Yes, I know what you mean. Newton is not particularly as brilliant as the dogs I grew up with, but then again, he is still a baby. We had two dobermans when I was a kid, and they were certainly intelligent.

Thoughts?

